“Cancel Culture Needs to Be Cancelled” – Nana Kwasi Wiafe Interview With Style Afrique

Nana Kwasi Wiafe

SA: Who is Nana Kwasi Wiafe?

Nana Kwasi Wiafe is an African excellence, a visionary artist, and a cultural leader who is boldly pushing culture forward, impacting and inspiring his generation with his art. He’s an ambassador of Ghanaian/African culture and heritage. Founder & Artistic Director of Very Ghanaian, a heritage lifestyle brand that’s reinforcing and inspiring patriotism, identity & love for Ghana.

SA: Can you share insights into your early life and upbringing? How did childhood experiences shape your perspective on art and creativity?

Growing up, I was a very curious child and was interested in learning so much about my environment and the people, so I asked a lot of questions. I was also that child who loved to watch TV a lot; I would watch TV from morning to midnight, which in some way was a sort of research and educational tool for me. I loved to draw and loved stories; one of my favorite shows was “By the fireside,” which was a show that promoted storytelling. I will say it has had an influence on the part of me that loves to tell stories now.

SA: What inspired the creation of “VERY GHANAIAN”, and how do you see it contributing to fostering patriotism, identity, and love for Ghana?

“Very Ghanaian” was inspired by my love for my country and my desire to change the way the world sees us as a people, but more importantly, it was to inspire us as a people to look within, to embrace and love who we are unapologetically. I saw that we were always looking outside for validation, so I wanted to highlight all the incredible things about Ghana that most times we do not appreciate that we have, like some of the most amazing Ghanaians who are industry leaders all over the world, making an incredible impact, our rich beautiful culture, our people, the food, art, music, the vibe, and everything Ghanaian that makes me proud to be Ghanaian. By doing so, I help inspire our people to see what we have and help us love ourselves more. This has helped reignite the pride in Ghanaians globally. One parent recently made a post of herself and her daughter wearing their “Very Ghanaian” pieces, and she wrote, “My daughter, my pride and joy, I hope you’re always proud of who you are and where you come from. I hope you always know you are more than enough.” This, for me, is one of the many reasons why I created this brand, inspiring this generation and the next generation to know who they are and be unapologetic about that.

SA: “VERY GHANAIAN” not only tells stories but also uses garments with global appeal. How do you balance the cultural specificity of your brand with its global aspirations?

The great thing is that Ghanaians are everywhere in the world, and Ghanaian culture is one that is loved and has influenced so many people globally. So, it’s basically about being able to put the brand in the context of global conversations without losing our DNA as a brand.

SA: “VERY GHANAIAN” aims to inspire love for Ghana through storytelling. Can you share a specific story or experience encapsulating the essence of your brand’s mission?

We have countless stories of how “Very Ghanaian” has inspired people to love Ghana, one of which is how people decided to come see Ghana for themselves just because of the stories we share. One of the most interesting messages we have received was from an African American lady who follows the brand. She shared, “As a black person living in America, I’ve often felt disconnected from a sense of identity or felt like I’ve had to take on an identity that was given to me. Our culture prior to slavery was unknown to me, but the way you (Very Ghanaian) tell stories of Ghana gives a fresh perspective of who we are and makes me fall in love with Ghana and want to come visit to discover it for myself.

Tiwa Savage in “Very Ghanaian”

SA: As the founder, what challenges did you face in establishing “VERY GHANAIAN,” and how did you overcome them to bring your vision to life?

Some of the challenges we have faced in establishing the brand have to do with finding the right manufacturers who can consistently produce at a high quality within the right timelines, access to funding, building a reliable and committed team, etc. Honestly, I wouldn’t say I have been able to fully overcome these challenges; it’s still a work in progress. But hopefully, we can fully overcome all of these challenges soon.

SA: As the founder of “VERY GHANAIAN,” what future projects or initiatives do you envision for the brand in further promoting patriotism and love for Ghana?

As far as future projects are concerned, I envision the brand having impactful collaborations with major brands around the world that align with our brand vision and goals to promote patriotism and love for Ghana and Africa. I would also love for the brand to be able to give back in a meaningful way by helping to solve certain social challenges in our communities.

SA: If you could have dinner with any historical figure, who would it be and why?

A historical figure I would love to have dinner with would be Osagyefo Dr. Kwame Nkrumah because he’s a visionary and the architect of this nation, but not only that, he is a true embodiment of patriotism.

Very Ghanaian

SA: Pan-Africanism seems to be a strong source of inspiration for you. How do you incorporate this ideology into your creative ventures, from filmmaking to styling and beyond?

Pan-Africanism is a strong inspiration for me because it really helps strengthen bonds and encourage unity among Africans and all people of black descent. One way I have incorporated it into my art is through collaborations. It’s always beautiful to combine forces to create art.

SA: Your involvement in Beyoncé’s “Black is King” visual album is impressive. Can you tell us about your experience and contribution to such a culturally significant project?

“Black is King” was monumental and one of the most incredible projects I have been on. For me, it was a great learning experience to get the opportunity to create with the Queen herself, Beyoncé. She’s truly a genius, and I’m glad I was able to bring a fresh perspective to the project through styling. For me, the most important part of it all was being able to have our people represented as themselves in their own environment.

SA: Your journey involves multiple creative paths such as filmmaking, modeling, and design. How do you maintain in-depth versatility in your creative pursuits, and what advice do you have for aspiring artists exploring various mediums?

As an artist, one of the things I believe in is my ability to do anything if I truly want to, so I apply my process to different mediums while still staying true to who I am.

SA: What’s the idea or inspiration behind “THOU ART KWASI”?

“THOU ART KWASI” basically means Kwasi’s art. A big part of everything I do, in some way, is rooted in art, so “Thou Art Kwasi” is the space I created to express my style as an art.

SA: As a creative director of “THOU ART KWASI,” how do you approach creating high-end fashion editorial looks that reflect the stories of brands and individuals on a global scale?

As a Creative Director, my approach has always been to understand who I am creating for, why, and what the overall vision is for a project/brand. Once I know these things, I do a lot of research about what I want to create. For me, that helps to understand the project/brand more, enabling me to create an authentic look that reflects the stories or brands and individuals.

SA: Can you share insights into your personal style and how it informs your choices as a model and creative director at “THOU ART KWASI”?

My style is dynamic, so it isn’t necessarily one style. However, I am a very subtle person yet have such a strong presence, so my style is quite subtle yet very powerful.

_

SA: As someone deeply connected to your roots, how do you see the future of African art and creativity on the global stage, and what role do you envision playing in that future?

I believe African art will always be king because we are the root that keeps inspiring the world, and our creativity will keep influencing cultures globally. With all this, I envision myself becoming one of the impactful leaders of this generation and beyond, using my art to inspire and bring us together.

SA: “THOU ART KWASI” focuses on creating aesthetics that reflect the stories of brands and individuals. Can you share a project that you found particularly challenging or rewarding in achieving this goal?

This is quite a tough one; however, I will say styling the music video “Dimension” by Jae5 featuring Rema & Skepta was challenging but at the same time rewarding. We had to pull everything off within a very short time period and had a lot of incredible talent on set, so it took quite a lot to get the results we had.

SA: Given your multifaceted career, how do you stay inspired and continue to push creative boundaries in your work?

Honestly, I just take it one day at a time and do my best to live and experience life, and out of those experiences comes the art. I let the inspiration find me and then find ways to make it my own and push the already existing boundaries.

_

SA: What’s your go-to comfort food that never fails to lift your spirits?

This is quite an interesting question. Well, for me, when it comes to food, it depends on what I’m craving. If I’m able to find that, then my spirit is happy.

SA: How did you start your journey as a model?

My journey as a model started around 2016. At the time, I had a lot of people suggesting that I try modeling because they felt I had all it took—the height and the face for it. So, I did a little research on the industry and decided to try out a few casting calls, and the rest, as they say, is history.

SA: As a model and creative director, what role do you believe fashion plays in shaping cultural narratives and influencing societal perceptions?

I believe fashion plays an important role in shaping and influencing culture by way of the stories being told through it visually. It indirectly helps change people’s perceptions, and for me, that’s powerful.

SA: Being deeply connected to your country, how has Ghanaian culture influenced your artistic identity, and in what ways do you incorporate these influences into your work?

Ghanaian culture has influenced almost every aspect of my artistic identity because my personal identity is rooted in being Ghanaian. My style, art, taste, morals, etc., are all very Ghanaian, so my culture always serves as a guide and source of inspiration for me.

_

SA: In your role as a cultural shifter, how do you see the impact of your work on challenging stereotypes or misconceptions about Africa and Ghanaians?

For me, I believe my art first introduces the world to a different “us” they never knew, and that in itself challenges any misconceptions or stereotypes they have of us. Then, it gets them to be more curious about who we truly are as a result of seeing this new “us” presented to them.

SA: Given your involvement in the fashion industry, do you believe there are specific changes needed to foster more diversity and inclusivity in styling and fashion overall?

I believe as an industry, we need to constantly find ways to make the diversity and inclusion circle bigger to welcome more people in and allow true talents to shine.

SA: Looking ahead, what legacy do you hope to leave through your various creative endeavors, and what impact do you aspire to have on the artistic landscape, particularly in Ghana and Africa as a whole?

As far as legacies are concerned, I want my art to live on like fine wine: timeless but relevant in different times, serving as a blueprint and inspiration for generations for centuries to come.

_

SA: Looking ahead, are there specific goals or initiatives within the modeling industry that you hope to pursue or support to bring about positive change?

The modeling industry needs strongly enforced policies and laws that can protect models from exploitation and ensure they fully benefit from their work. It’s one of the important things I will be happy to see happen. Also, cancel culture needs to be cancelled!

SA: What advice or tips would you give to someone who looks up to you but does not know how or where to start?

The advice I will give anyone who looks up to me will be to start regardless of all the doubts you have. You will figure it out on the journey as you go, and always keep trying and keep going regardless. It’s never easy, but don’t give up when things get tough, and never forget to love yourself and enjoy yourself throughout the journey.

SA: Are there any upcoming projects you would like to share?

I’m excited about some incredible projects I have been working on and can’t wait to share them when I’m ready. So, people should keep their eyes on my journey and keep supporting.

SA: Share the social media handles of your brands.

@veryghanaian, @thouartkwasi & @nana.kwasi.wiafe

Gallery

Leave a comment